retr0pia75 & The One Lovely Blog Award

Once again, I have been granted the pleasant honor of recieving a nomination! This time around, I’d like to thank my good friend DeLuxODonnell92, the creator of Blogspot and WordPress sites respectively titled Kyle’s Animated World and Kyle Loves Animation And More.  In addition to knowing a lot about all sorts of media, he’s also just a really great guy to talk to in general. Be sure to check his stuff out and also follow him on Twitter!

one-lovely-blog

For those who are unaware, the One Lovely Blog Award is a nomination in which the person who is presented with it must state a total of seven tidbits about yourself, then followed by nominating another blog, thus continuing an endless cycle. With that said, let us get to the facts…

20131105-life-cereal-closeup-thumb-610x410-363865

NO. 1 – I Vastly Prefer Dry Cereal

I honestly have no clue why, but I always found cereal with milk to be completely disgusting. Maybe it’s because of the sogginess, or how most of the time the taste of the cereal doesn’t go well with milk at all, who knows.

megamanssb4

NO. 2 – I Don’t Think The Mega Man Games Are That Great (For The Most Part)

Now before you say anything, let me make it clear that this doesn’t mean I don’t hate them or generally think of them as bad games – far from it, actually. I find them to be fun and unique titles in their own right, but I feel like a lot of them (especially the NES games) can get somewhat repetitive and often abuse the cheap difficulty tatic of game design. However, there are certain exceptions to this. The Mega Man X series is one that I would truly go on to claim as great, and the Zero spin-off games aren’t half-bad either.

itinerary-header

NO. 3 – I Really, Really Love Animals

But even then, I’m not quite sure who doesn’t. In addition to being capaable of amazing biological and physical feats, they can also make unbelievably loyal companions and are also fascinating to research.

coca-cola-soda-can-wallpaper-background-49157-50817-hd-wallpapers.jpg

NO. 4 – I’m A Huge Soda Addict

Once I sip a can of one of them, I literally cannot put it down. Seriously, that’s how severe it is. Although I do make efforts to reduce it from my diet once in a while, I still can’t help to have a thirst from it.

blurayconcept

NO . 5 – Unless They’re In Proper Hands, I Think That Video Games Should Remain As Video Games

Let’s be honest – video games are a medium that will never truly find any solid ground in terms of adaptations. In addition to frequently BARELY resembling their source games, most of the ones that are more faithful to their source games aren’t that great either. Maybe one day this trope will be subverted, but I ain’t getting my hopes up.

sonic

NO. 6 – I’m Not A Sonic Fan

Yeah, I have to come clean and admit it. While I absolutely adore the Genesis trilogy and CD and enjoyed some of the other titles in the franchise, I honestly think that most of them range from being mediocre, to bad, to levels of wretchedness that no game should ever be allowed to achieve. It doesn’t help either that when you really think about it, some of them like Heroes and Lost World have legitimately great ideas but end up falling short. If you enjoy the franchise, no harm done. But for the most part, it simply isn’t my cup of tea.

(However, I am greatly looking forward to Mania and Project 2017.)

top-secret-50e5ea1d53764

NO. 7 – I’m Planning On Making A Game Of My Own One Day

If there’s one thing that I’ve wanted to accomplish since I was a youngling, it’s contributing to my favorite entertainment medium of all time. A couple of years back, I actually created a batch of characters for a potential gaming media franchise (the antagonist of whom I revealed in a tweet not too many days ago). I really want this project to grow into something more in the future, and once I get a hold of an engine (preferably Unity or Unreal Engine), I can get started on it. With that said, I hope you all enjoy what I’m going to be revealing very soon.

THE NOMINEES:

I Played The Game

hungrygoriya

The Shameful Narcissist

THE RULES:

  1. Write an article accepting the award.
  2. Thank the person you nominated you and put a link to their blog.
  3. Tell the reader seven facts about yourself.
  4. Nominate other blogs for the award.
  5. Let them know that you nominated them.
  6. Post the rules to let your followers know how it works.
10 Comments

  1. Aw thank you thank you for the lovely nomination 😀 ♥♥♥

    I don’t abhor milk in cereal, but I don’t think it’s necessary to enjoy it, and totally agree with the sog factor. I also prefer non-toasted pop tarts. I don’t know why.

    I don’t trust people who don’t like animals. I just think there’s something majorly wrong. I can understand if you’re allergic or have been bitten, but to just not like them. Nope. Hell, I’m slightly allergic to cats and my one little guy is still curled up on my side. I also don’t get thinking it’s okay to hurt animals just because you don’t like that. I don’t want to go all ranty in your comments section so I’ll refrain.

    The one video game adaptation that I liked and I am SUPER biased was FFVII: Advent Children, but even I have to admit before Complete came out, the movie had a ton of issues. The complete version resolved a ton of those. I obviously like fanfiction, but I agree with you that whenever movie execs get their hands on a script for a game, it usually turns out poorly. Oh, there’s one more I did like: Max Payne BUT I never played the game, so I really can’t judge how well they adapted it. As a movie I thought it was pretty decent.

    Yassss I would LOVE to see any game you made. I have pipe dreams that one day my paranormal romance novel will be adapted into one (we were just talking about adaptations lol, but I think going from one media to video game has been more favorable), but I certainly don’t have any plans or backing. Getting it published first is my first grandiose plan.

    Thank you again! You also retweet my stuff along with quite few other lovely people and it’s making me pay more attention to Twitter (since I want to retweet/like things in turn) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your award!

    I prefer my cereal dry as well. I’m so happy I’m not alone, lol I’ve never played a Mega Man game yet so I don’t really have an opinion on the games.

    I also agree completely: Games should stay games! I know I’m in the minority, but the only video game movie adaptation I like is Resident Evil. I actually saw Resident Evil Apocalypse before playing any of the games. This movie made me go play them and I’m so glad I did. Now I’m a huge fan of both the games and movies.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on your award!! I’m surprised you don’t like Mega Man or Sonic too much. You seem to have something against blue platformer mascots, haha. Though, I’m not the biggest Mega Man or Sonic fan either, but I have grown to respect their IPs through their ups and downs. Good luck on your future game! Hope everything turns out well, and we can enjoy a certified Retr0pia hit!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I grew up with Nintendo, though didn’t get a chance to play the Mega Man series on NES growing up. Once I did play some of their games later in life, I grew to enjoy their IPs! Hopefully, your game doesn’t have a blue protagonist, unless you’re trying to one-up them, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome post! Your work is always deserving of a solid nod, and I’m glad you see that regularly!

    I loved your random facts. I honestly wish I could love dry cereal, but I need the milk to mushify it for me. Crunchy textures give me some issues sometimes like nails on a chalkboard! Your candidness about the Sonic franchise is refreshing. I’m also a huge fan of the original trilogy and haven’t played anything beyond that. I frankly don’t want to because of all the bad opinions out there!

    I secretly love the SMB movie. Please don’t metaphorically pelt me with rotten veggies!

    Thank you so much for nominating me for this award! I will write something up in the next few days. Weare travelling for Thanksgiving but will be back after the long weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

