RANKING THE PIXAR MOVIES: No. 15

cars-2-movie-poster-cast-hi-res-01

NO. 15 – Cars 2 (2011)

DIRECTOR: John Lasseter

Cars is often regarded as Pixar’s lesser franchise, and when people provide evidence to back this statement, they frequently point to the sequel, which is considered by many to be the first ever “not good” Pixar film. However, if you ask me…it’s actually not that bad. I’d even go as far as to call it decent! So, what about the story? Some time after the events of the original film, Lightning McQueen and his allies head overseas to compete in an international racing championship aptly titled the World Grand Prix. However, Mater is mistaken for a spy by a secret agent car named Finn McMissile, and ultimately ends up getting tangled in a fuel conspiracy which inadvertently puts his friendship with Lightning on the line, and holy smokes what isn’t going on in this. With that said, the big issue that everyone has with this film is…well, just take a gander at my plot synopsis. As you can see, the focus has shifted gears towards the main comic relief of the film, Mater, whose reception is quite mixed throughout the Pixar fanbase. If you want my point of view, I actually like him a lot. I guess his whole “dimwitted but big-hearted country guy” shtick can get a bit wearisome after a while, but it doesn’t bother me that much and I do get some good laughs from him. The story itself is well-written, putting a balanced emphasis on both plotlines while also never really losing focus on the other. This also leads into one of the other major strengths, the animation. Not only do you really feel like you’re on a world tour, there’s also some neat action scenes to boot, being frenetic and exciting, with the climax being especially noteworthy. Cars 2: It ain’t Pixar’s finest, but it’s far from being truly awful.

3 Comments

  1. I think this is a good place for Cars 2 in the rankings. I don’t like the movie at all, and part of it is probably me disliking Mater. I did like the first Cars though. The trailer for the third Cars movie looks interesting, so maybe that will get me back into the series. Nice write-up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t get the hate for Cars 2! I saw it long enough before I’d heard all the negative press, so I was going in pretty clean. It was a fairly decent plot, and it let Mater be the main character instead of the side show. It had a nice conflict between him and Lightning with the race car not believing his friend, and the stakes were pretty high. While it’s not my favorite Pixar movie, I still found it fairly enjoyable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

